The fault in our stars – John Green

bigpreview_The Fault In Our Stars - John Green

Hazel Grace, a 16 year-old girl, was hit by a sore deadly disease that happens to be lungs cancer. She always was that momma’s little girl whose whims are immediately satisfied as much as her parents can afford it. Considering the fact that she was a total homebody, her mom forced her to take day-classes and volunteer at a support group reuniting sick people with various rates so that she could add a touch of novelty to her dull life. Hazel has always considered Van Houten as her ultimate idol, devouring his novel “An Imperial Affliction” as soon as she gets some spare-time (which is much frequent). She was such a voracious reader when it comes to this book.

Augustus Waters, commonly called Gus, was a young 17 year-old amputee begot that way by Osteosarcoma (cancer of the bone). He attended support group as well. Gus was described to be a wholly confident guy, as sexy as a former basket-ball player can be, with bright-blue eyes, clarion voice and a crooked smile.

Hazel and Gus met the first day she stepped into that support group. There was a vivacious chemistry between the two and they’ve both found solace in going out together, despite being eerily different, as one fulfills the blanks of the other. Facts have regrettably taken a turn for the scandalous and Gus found out he suffered from a deadly disease as well. The unfortunate young couple were actually both doomed to death, Gus hid it better, Hazel discovers it a bit lately, and unlike expectations, only Hazel was life long enough to survive. “Life is not a wish-granting factory”, as Gus would’ve stated.

The poor young girl experienced such a harsh time after his death, not completely convinced of what just happened to her boyfriend, stating how life could be repressing and hijacking as soon as she gets to live better. He bequeathed her four pages as a eulogy he has written during his last weeks as a living young man, telling her his imaginatively-made-up alterations she always wanted to hear, not from her fallen boyfriend, but from her all-time favorite novel’s author instead. 

As soon as I surpassed the twentieth page of the novel, I completely was teleported to cloud nine as I felt I won’t be letting go of it any time soon. Because of the lasting-pleasures lover that I happen to be, I fancy long stories I can read more than once from which I get to meditate many of the existential conflicts we try to get along with everyday.

I add my agreement to those that were emitted before, and say that this book totally deserves the New York Times award it earned. It is full of golden lessons about health, love, sacrifice, and family’s affectively-precious links. This totally won’t be my last John Green’s and I highly recommend you to read this one, it would be worth your time.

2 thoughts on “The fault in our stars – John Green

  1. When I first heard about this book, I was a little afraid I wouldn’t like it because there had been so much hype. But it was as touching and poignant as everyone said it was. Parts of it were stark, parts hopeful, and parts so devastatingly realistic that I had to set the book down and gather my thoughts. I can’t decide if I want to see the movie, because I’ve built up such an idea of Hazel, Gus, and Van Houten in my head already!

    • Yes you and me both. I’m afraid this would ruin my idea about all these characters. But curiosity has it! I cannot let that go past me without watching it. Hope it won’t be deflating.

Leave a comment